Where in Harrisonburg can I find healthy hamburgers?

For human species eating food is not only a physiological need - it has also a social purpose that hold groups together. Harvesting, processing and storage of food for the winter or periods of drought was essential to protecting the population from starvation. Here in Harrisonburg which is a high developed settlement citizens prefer services like fast food in trucks or dishes in restaurants instead of agriculture and self preparing. Not everybody wants to deal with preparing food so if you want to try something new like mcnuggets or cajun catfish and spiced rice you can choose DQ Grill & Chill Restaurant at 78 S Carlton St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States.

Best vegetarian dishes from fast food locals in Harrisonburg

Many people in Harrisonburg recommend a vegetarian diet, so meatless with the use of animal products like honey, milk, eggs.

Preparing food is not only a great option to spend time with your family. It is also necessary that proper nutrition is fundamental - not only in Harrisonburg. Lillian Fowler from Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen claims that greek pizza with kale and mornay sauce is very tasty but it has 620 kilo-calories in each 100 grams.

Popular fast food and food trucks in Harrisonburg

Serving alcoholic beverages7 UPTable and chairs for children
Popeyes Louisiana KitchenYesN/AN/A
Five GuysYesN/AN/A
Arby'sN/AN/AN/A
QuiznosYesN/AYes
Wendy'sN/ANoYes

This close-up image at Local Choq and Grill House in Harrisonburg showcases a nutritious ham-burger with a locally sourced grass-fed beef patty, topped with fresh produce, accompanied by seasonal vegetables.
This close-up image at Local Choq and Grill House in Harrisonburg showcases a nutritious ham-burger with a locally sourced grass-fed beef patty, topped with fresh produce, accompanied by seasonal vegetables.

Where in Harrisonburg can I find healthy hamburgers?

Healthy food options in Harrisonburg

Harrisonburg is known for its delicious food culture, but sometimes it can be hard to find healthy options. When it comes to hamburgers, however, there are some places that offer healthier versions of this classic comfort food.

The Great Bowl

The Great Bowl is a great place to find healthy hamburgers. They serve a variety of wholesome burgers made with grass-fed beef or black bean patties. Their burgers are also served with a side of salad instead of fries, making it a healthier option.

Corgans' Publick House

Corgans' Publick House is another gem in Harrisonburg when it comes to healthy burgers. Their signature burger is made with the highest quality grass-fed beef, and they also offer turkey and veggie options. Additionally, they offer gluten-free buns and have an array of healthy toppings.

Local Chop and Grill House

Local Chop and Grill House is another great place to find healthy hamburgers that are made with high-quality meat. They offer several gourmet burgers, including the Grass-fed Burger which features a juicy patty made from local grass-fed beef, served with a side of seasonal vegetables.

Billy Jack's Wings and Draft Shack

Billy Jack's Wings and Draft Shack offers a healthier burger option called the "Lean Mean Green Machine". This burger is made with lean ground turkey, spinach, and feta cheese, and is topped with red onion, tomato, and house-made tzatziki sauce.

Conclusion

Finding a healthy hamburger in Harrisonburg might seem hard, but there are several restaurants that offer healthier options. Visiting the Great Bowl, Corgans' Publick House, Local Chop and Grill House, and Billy Jack's Wings and Draft Shack can provide you with flavorful and nutritious meals that still satisfy your burger cravings without sacrificing taste or quality.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What are the ingredients and preparation method for our signature dish, the "Harrisonburg Heat"?

The Harrisonburg Heat is a spicy and flavorful stir-fry dish featuring shrimp or chicken as the main protein. Here's what you'll need to make it:
Ingredients:
- 1 lb shrimp or chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
- 1 red bell pepper, sliced
- 1 yellow onion, chopped
- 2 garlic cloves, minced
- 1 tbsp grated ginger
- 1 cup fresh spinach leaves
- 3 green onions, chopped
- 2 tbsp soy sauce
- 1 tbsp rice vinegar
- 1 tbsp chili paste or sambal oelek
- 2 tbsp peanut oil
- Salt and pepper to taste
Optional:
- Cooked rice or noodles for serving
Instructions:
1. Heat peanut oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat.
2. Add the shrimp (or chicken) and cook until browned and cooked through, about 4-5 minutes.
3. Remove the protein from the pan and set aside.
4. In the same pan, add the red bell pepper and yellow onion, cooking until tender, about 3-4 minutes.
5. Add the garlic and ginger to the pan and cook for another minute.
6. Return the shrimp (or chicken) to the pan, along with soy sauce, rice vinegar, chili paste or sambal oelek, salt, and pepper.
7. Stir in the fresh spinach leaves and green onions until wilted.
8. Serve hot over cooked rice or noodles if desired. Enjoy!

What are the ingredients and cooking methods for our most popular menu item, the Chicken Strip Basket?

Our Chicken Strip Basket is a popular choice among our customers. Here's how we prepare it:
Ingredients:
- 1 lb of boneless skinless chicken breast
- 1 cup of all-purpose flour
- 2 teaspoons of garlic powder
- 2 teaspoons of onion powder
- 2 teaspoons of salt
- 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
- 2 eggs, beaten
- Vegetable oil for frying
Instructions:
1. Cut the chicken breast into strips and set aside.
2. In a large bowl, combine flour, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and black pepper. Mix well.
3. Dip each chicken strip in the beaten eggs, then coat with the flour mixture until well-coated. Repeat the process to create a double layer of coating on each strip.
4. Heat vegetable oil in a deep fryer or heavy pot over medium-high heat until it reaches 350°F (175°C).
5. Fry chicken strips in small batches, making sure not to overcrowd the pan. Cook for about 2-4 minutes on each side or until golden brown and crispy. Make sure the internal temperature of the chicken reaches 165°F (74°C) before removing from the oil.
6. Drain the cooked chicken strips on paper towels to remove excess oil.
7. Serve hot with your choice of dipping sauce, such as ranch, honey mustard or barbecue sauce.

Recommended places in Harrisonburg

Burger King

Fast food
262 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4491484, -78.8652332

Users reviews of Burger King Harrisonburg

McDonald's

Fast food
98 S Carlton St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4432046, -78.8577989

Users reviews of McDonald's Harrisonburg

Arby's

Fast food
58 S Carlton St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4434625, -78.8561366

Users reviews of Arby's Harrisonburg

Hardee's

Fast food
785 Cantrell Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4404477, -78.8573797

Users reviews of Hardee's Harrisonburg

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-06 by Zoe Beasley

I was initially hesitant to try out Hardee's in Harrisonburg, given its reputation for fast food. However, my curiosity got the best of me and I decided to pay it a visit alone in July. Being a resident and professional in this area, I can confidently say that this Hardee's location is situated near the bustling James Madison University campus, just a stone's throw away from the iconic Turner Pavilion. Upon entering the establishment, I was struck by the lively and welcoming ambiance. The staff were friendly and efficient, promptly taking my order at the counter. I opted for the classic Double Thickburger, which promised twice the beef patty, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and mayonnaise sandwiched between two sesame seed buns. As I sat down to savor my meal, I was impressed by the generous portion sizes and the tantalizing aroma wafting from my plate. The burger did not disappoint in terms of taste or texture; the beef was juicy and flavorful, while the vegetables added a refreshing crunch. The fries were equally satisfying, crispy on the outside yet soft and fluffy on the inside. I also appreciated the fact that they came with a generous serving of ketchup for dipping. While I do not condone consuming fast food as a regular habit, my experience at Hardee's in Harrisonburg has left me pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and reasonably priced, making it a viable option for quick bites on the go or for those craving a guilty pleasure indulgence. Moreover, I would like to commend Hardee's for their efforts towards sustainability, as evidenced by the recycling bin prominently displayed near the entrance. It is heartening to see fast food chains taking steps towards reducing their carbon footprint and promoting a cleaner environment. In conclusion, I would wholeheartedly recommend Hardee's in Harrisonburg to anyone seeking a satisfying fast-food experience. With its prime location and commendable sustainability efforts, it is a beacon of hope for the future of the fast food industry. Here's hoping that more establishments follow suit and prioritize both taste and responsibility. As an architect, I believe that we have the power to shape a better tomorrow through our design choices. Therefore, let us strive towards creating sustainable buildings that promote healthy living, just like Hardee's is doing with their food offerings. After all, as today's news highlights, for "the price of a new truck," one can own a dream retirement home abroad - but consider these 3 things first. Retiring overseas for lower living costs in France or Italy is an exciting prospect for Americans who are looking to live out their golden years in style while cutting down on expenses. However, it's crucial to prepare well in advance by researching the local laws and customs, securing proper healthcare coverage, and ensuring a stable income stream. By doing so, we can enjoy the best of both worlds - a fulfilling retirement lifestyle and financial security - just like Hardee's is striving towards with their delicious food and responsible business practices.

Firehouse Subs

Fast food
1820 Evelyn Byrd Ave #170, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.432207, -78.8543373

Users reviews of Firehouse Subs Harrisonburg

Five Guys

Fast food
108 Burgess Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.433445, -78.848641

Users reviews of Five Guys Harrisonburg

Cook Out

Fast food
1688 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4338182, -78.8447526

Users reviews of Cook Out Harrisonburg

Chick-fil-A

Fast food
1691 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4330659, -78.846165

Users reviews of Chick-fil-A Harrisonburg

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-06-05 by Michelle

As a loyal customer and frequent visitor, I've always had a positive experience at Chick-fil-A located in 1691 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States. However, during my last visit with my husband, I was unfortunately disappointed due to the rude staff behavior we encountered.
Let me take you back to that day when we were looking forward to savoring their mouth-watering chicken sandwiches and waffle fries, but instead, we found ourselves in an unpleasant situation with one of their employees. Upon entering the restaurant, we noticed that it was quite crowded as usual, but the staff didn't seem to be bothered by it. It took them a while to take our order, and when my husband asked for a specific sauce, he got a rude response from the cashier who barely looked at him before handing over the sauce packets.
We thought this was an isolated incident until we faced another unpleasant situation while trying to get some condiments. One of the employees seemed irritated by our request and threw the ketchup bottle at us. It landed a few feet away from where we were standing, which was quite shocking considering their customer-oriented reputation.
Despite these two unfortunate experiences, I must say that Chick-fil-A still stands out among other fast food joints in Harrisonburg. They have maintained their high standards of quality and service for years, and the majority of times we've visited, we've been treated like royalty. Their signature chicken sandwiches are always fresh and juicy, the waffle fries are crispy on the outside but soft inside, and their customer service is usually exceptional.
However, on this particular occasion, it seemed like something was amiss with their staff. We understand that sometimes people have bad days, but as customers who've been loyal to Chick-fil-A for years, we expect a certain level of professionalism and courtesy from their employees.
In conclusion, while I still believe that Chick-fil-A serves some of the best fast food in Harrisonburg, my recent experience has made me realize that there is room for improvement when it comes to staff training and customer service. It's essential that businesses like Chick-fil-A continue to prioritize their customers' needs and ensure that every interaction leaves them feeling satisfied and valued.

Wendy's

Fast food
1694 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4334825, -78.8444427

Users reviews of Wendy's Harrisonburg

McDonald's

Fast food
171 Burgess Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.435262, -78.853056

Users reviews of McDonald's Harrisonburg

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen

Fast food
1915 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4298249, -78.8426481

Users reviews of Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen Harrisonburg

Arby's

Fast food
1781 S High St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4329374, -78.9018323

Users reviews of Arby's Harrisonburg

McDonald's

Fast food
1880 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4285326, -78.8405366

Users reviews of McDonald's Harrisonburg

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-24 by Tanner Best

I was in dire need of some quick and satisfying grub. Luckily, I stumbled upon this McDonald's at the corner of E Market St and Tanner Ave. The location was easy to find and conveniently situated near my hotel. Upon entering, I was immediately impressed by the cleanliness and efficiency of the staff. They greeted me with warm smiles and promptly took my order. The menu was easy to navigate, and I opted for a classic Big Mac meal complete with fries and a drink. The food did not disappoint - it was piping hot and flavorful, just as I remembered from my childhood. The fries were crispy and perfectly salted, while the burger was juicy and packed with all the classic toppings. I also appreciated that the meal came with a generous helping of ice cream for dessert. The atmosphere inside the restaurant was lively but not overwhelmingly loud or chaotic, making it a pleasant place to enjoy my meal. The seating area was clean and well-maintained, with plenty of tables and chairs available. I noticed that some customers were utilizing the free WiFi provided by McDonald's, which is always a nice perk when on the go. In terms of news, I couldn't help but overhear a group of locals discussing the recent developments in the community. They seemed excited about a new park that was opening nearby and shared their hopes for how it would benefit families and children in the area. It was heartening to hear such positive energy and pride in their hometown, and I left feeling even more grateful for my visit to Harrisonburg. Overall, I would highly recommend this McDonald's to anyone looking for a quick bite or a cozy place to relax and enjoy some classic fast food fare. The service was excellent, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was welcoming and inviting.

KFC

Fast food
891 Cantrell Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4414489, -78.8551609

Users reviews of KFC Harrisonburg

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-09-18 by Daniela Bauer

My dear, last summer when we found ourselves at 891 Cantrell Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States after a long day of sightseeing with my brother, our hearts yearned for a taste of good ol' Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC). As we walked in and the aroma of fried chicken wafted through the air, I couldn't help but feel a sense of nostalgia wash over me. The anticipation grew within us, as we imagined sinking our teeth into that crispy, juicy chicken. But alas, my heart sank when we discovered the premises were far from clean, and it seemed as though time had forgotten to visit this particular KFC location. My beloved, I must say, this experience left me disappointed, and I couldn't help but compare it to other fast-food joints in Harrisonburg that offered a more inviting and hygienic atmosphere. It made me wonder if the love and care put into crafting their delicious dishes had been overlooked in favor of neglecting the cleanliness of this particular establishment. My dear, I long for the day when we can find a KFC that not only satisfies our craving for good food but also provides us with a warm and welcoming environment to enjoy it in. Until then, my love, let us continue our search for fast-food treasures in Harrisonburg, where cleanliness and delectable flavors go hand in hand.

DQ Grill & Chill Restaurant

Fast food
78 S Carlton St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4432309, -78.8569258

Users reviews of DQ Grill & Chill Restaurant Harrisonburg

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2023-07-28 by Naomi

Last year, my partner and I visited DQ Grill & Chill at 78 S Carlton St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States - it was a long-awaited break from our mundane routine and we wanted to try something different for dinner. Having heard such good things about this restaurant, we thought it would be perfect place to indulge in some comfort food.

As we entered the establishment, it felt like any other fast-food joint but we were hoping that their service and quality of food would exceed expectations. Unfortunately, our experience turned out to be quite disappointing due to rude staff members who made us feel unwelcome as paying customers.

The person taking our order was uninterested and barely made eye contact when asked for a specific topping on my burger. The food took an unusually long time to arrive, which only added to our frustration with the experience. When it finally did come out, it tasted exactly like any other fast-food joint in town - nothing special or unique about it.

In conclusion, while DQ Grill & Chill offers a wide variety of menu items that you won't find elsewhere in Harrisonburg, their poor customer service and average food quality make them an unappealing choice for dining out. If you're looking for a memorable experience with great food and friendly staff, there are definitely better options available in town.

Wendy's

Fast food
1560 S Main St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4305276, -78.883669

Users reviews of Wendy's Harrisonburg

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-24 by Rebecca Hampton

my heart leapt with excitement. My sister and I had been craving something delicious for days, and we had heard that this fast food chain was a cut above the rest when it came to quality. We eagerly made our way to the counter, ready to indulge in some truly epic fare. At first, all seemed well. The staff greeted us with bright smiles and promptly took our orders. But as we waited for our meals to arrive, my spirits began to sink. The aroma of greasy burgers and fried chicken wafted through the air, but it was a far cry from the heavenly scent I had been expecting. And then, the moment of truth arrived. My sister's burger arrived first, and she took her first bite with a look of disappointment on her face. It's not as good as McDonald's," she muttered, handing me a bite to taste. I nodded in agreement, feeling a sense of sadness wash over me. This was not what I had been hoping for. The meat was dry and bland, the bun soggy and lifeless. It was clear that Wendy's had fallen short of its promise to deliver epic, mouth-watering fare. As I sat there, disheartened and disappointed, I couldn't help but compare Wendy's to some of the other fast food chains in Harrisonburg. Burger King, for example, always delivered a juicy, flavorful patty that left my taste buds tingling with delight. Subway, meanwhile, offered a freshness and variety that left me feeling energized and invigorated. Wendy's, on the other hand, seemed to be stuck in a rut. It was as if they had lost their way, their once-epic cuisine now dull and uninspiring. I couldn't help but wonder what had gone wrong. Had they lost touch with their customers' needs? Were they cutting corners to save money? Or were they simply too complacent in their success to continue innovating and improving?

All of these questions swirled around my mind as we finished our meals and left the restaurant, our stomachs still growling from hunger. It was a sobering experience, one that left me feeling both sad and determined. I vowed to spread the word about Wendy's subpar food quality, hoping that others would follow suit and demand better from this once-great fast food chain. In light of today's news about Casement Park and the long road to Euro 2028, I can't help but draw parallels between the two situations. Both involve a lengthy process of planning, construction, and preparation, with an eye towards delivering something truly epic and unforgettable to the people. Both require a deep commitment to excellence, a willingness to think outside the box and push the boundaries of what's possible. And both demand a sense of wonder and amazement, a recognition that we are capable of achieving great things when we put our minds to it. In short, Wendy's needs to channel some of this same spirit if it hopes to reclaim its place among the fast food elite. It's time for them to step up their game, to innovate and improve in ways that will leave their customers gasping with amazement. Only then can they hope to earn back the trust and loyalty that has been slipping away over the years. As for us? We'll continue exploring Harrisonburg's many fast food options, always on the lookout for something truly epic and delicious. And when we stumble across it, you can be sure that we'll shout its praises from the rooftops, eager to share our discovery with others who hunger for greatness. For in this world of fast food chains, there's always hope for something better, something more wondrous and awe-inspiring than anything that's come before it. All we have to do is keep searching, keep believing, and keep demanding the best from those around us. Until next time, dear reader.

McDonald's

Fast food
2387 S Main St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4204503, -78.894229

Users reviews of McDonald's Harrisonburg

Jimmy John's

Fast food
1681 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.433463, -78.846149

Users reviews of Jimmy John's Harrisonburg

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-13 by Antonio

I can attest to the sheer indulgence and satisfaction that their mouth-watering sandwiches offer. This fast-food chain has undoubtedly stolen my heart with its exceptional quality of ingredients, freshness, and prompt service. The allure of a quick bite that packs a flavorful punch is unparalleled, making it an irresistible choice for locals seeking a speedy yet delicious meal. In today's news, Japan's young professionals are migrating abroad as the gap between their salaries and those in senior positions continues to widen, causing labor shortages in an aging society. This highlights how fast-food chains like Jimmy John's serve as a beacon of hope for individuals seeking employment opportunities that cater to their immediate needs without demanding long-term commitments or high salaries. The convenience, affordability, and delectable fare make such establishments a preferred option for those striving to balance their daily routines with their financial circumstances.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-07-04 by Victoria Valentine

I find it appalling that Antonio can blindly praise this fast-food chain without acknowledging its numerous flaws. While the quality of ingredients and prompt service may be noteworthy, the same cannot be said about the overpriced sandwiches that leave a deep dent in one's pocket. The portions are meager, and the prices are exorbitant, making it an unaffordable luxury for most individuals. Furthermore, Jimmy John's has been accused of exploiting its employees by paying them below minimum wage and denying them basic benefits such as health insurance and sick leave. The workers are overworked and underpaid, leading to high turnover rates and poor customer service. Such practices are a blatant disregard for the dignity and rights of these individuals who deserve fair compensation for their hard work. In contrast to Antonio's glowing review, I would urge potential customers to avoid Jimmy John's and instead opt for more affordable and humane alternatives. The fast-food industry has long been criticized for its exploitative practices and poor working conditions, and it is high time that we hold these chains accountable for their actions. By supporting smaller, local businesses or cooking our meals at home, we can make a positive impact on the community and contribute to a more just and equitable society. In today's news, Amazon's collaboration with Saks and Neiman Marcus has raised concerns regarding antitrust implications. While such partnerships may benefit Amazon in terms of expanding its customer base and offerings, they could potentially stifle competition and hurt smaller businesses in the luxury fashion industry. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is currently weighing the potential impacts of this collaboration, and it remains to be seen how it will affect the marketplace in the long run. Overall, while Jimmy John's may offer a quick and convenient meal option, its exploitative practices and exorbitant prices make it an unworthy choice for responsible consumers. I urge readers to think twice before giving in to the allure of fast food and instead prioritize fairness, affordability, and dignity for all individuals involved in the industry's operations. Let us strive towards a more just and equitable society, starting with our daily choices and actions.

Quiznos

Fast food
190 Blue Stone Hills Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22807, United States

GPS : 38.4371444, -78.8696158

Users reviews of Quiznos Harrisonburg

Bojangles' Famous Chicken 'n Biscuits

Fast food
1880 Port Republic Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, United States

GPS : 38.4073341, -78.8651596

Users reviews of Bojangles' Famous Chicken 'n Biscuits Harrisonburg

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-05-21 by Savannah Wong

I have had the pleasure of visiting their location on Port Republic Road multiple times. Each visit has left me impressed with the friendly and attentive staff working there. The employees are always dressed in uniform, which consists of a navy blue collared shirt, black pants, and white sneakers. They all seem to take pride in their appearance and carry themselves professionally. During my most recent trip to Bojangles', I was greeted with a warm smile by the cashier, who also happened to be the manager. She asked if I had found everything I needed and if there was anything else she could help me with. Her genuine enthusiasm for her job and the food served at Bojangles' made me feel appreciated as a customer. My journey from the historic downtown area of Harrisonburg, where the charming Savannah Wong is located, took about ten minutes via car. I was thankful for the smooth traffic and well-maintained roads that led me to my destination. Bojangles' is situated in a bustling commercial district with plenty of parking options available. As an advocate for animal conservation, it was heartening to read today's news about the efforts being made by Mexicans to protect the endangered axolotl. These amphibians are native to Mexico and play a crucial role in maintaining the ecological balance of the region. Their unique regenerative abilities have captured the attention of scientists worldwide, making them a subject of extensive research. It's encouraging to see that people are taking steps to ensure their survival and preserve this remarkable species for future generations. In conclusion, I would like to express my gratitude towards Bojangles', their staff, and the community of Harrisonburg for their contributions towards animal welfare. The experience at Bojangles' was delightful, and I look forward to visiting again soon. I encourage others to support local businesses that promote sustainable practices and contribute positively to society. Let us all make a difference by doing our part to protect our environment and the creatures that inhabit it.

Fast food within entire Harrisonburg region

Other stuff from Harrisonburg:

Recently featured: