Is eating fast food healthy - examples from Edmonton

There is always a concern - where to eat in Edmonton. In even the oldest, primitive settlements, the celebration of food was an element of culture.
In consumer societies for example in Edmonton people prefer spending their time on different activities than preparing food for themselves. Some of them can not whipping cream. Not everybody wants to deal with preparing food so if you want to try something new like hash browns or chicken and kale caesar-style salad you can choose McDonald's at 101 St NW 6- 116, Edmonton, AB T5J 2Y8, Canada.

Vegetarian fast food in Edmonton

Many people in Edmonton recommend a vegetarian diet, so meatless with the use of animal products like honey, milk, eggs.

You have to remember that improper food or nutrition could be danger to your health. Even the processing of food has a fundamental meaning. For example harissa chicken skewers with freekeh and sautéed carrots could have 730 kcal in each 100 grams.

Popular fast food and food trucks in Edmonton

7 UPFanta avaiablePossibility of organizing a closed event
Wendy'sN/AN/AN/A
McDonald'sYesN/AYes
A&WN/ANoNo
Panda ExpressNoN/AYes

Is Eating Fast Food Healthy? Examples from Edmonton

Introduction

Fast food has become a popular and convenient food option in today's fast-paced world. It is quick and inexpensive, making it a reliable choice for those on-the-go. However, the question of whether or not fast food is healthy remains a topic of debate. This article explores the health implications of fast food and provides examples from the city of Edmonton.

Health Implications of Fast Food

Fast food is notoriously high in calories, fat, sugar and salt. The excessive consumption of fast food has been linked to various health problems, including obesity, high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes, and heart disease. The saturated and trans fats found in fast food can clog arteries and raise cholesterol levels, which can lead to heart attacks and strokes.

Examples from Edmonton

Edmonton is a bustling city that offers a variety of fast food options to its residents. In recent years, there has been a push towards healthier fast food alternatives. For example, several fast food restaurants in Edmonton now offer grilled chicken instead of fried, as well as salads and fresh fruit options.

One such restaurant is the Freshii chain, which focuses on providing healthy meal options. Freshii offers salads, bowls, smoothies, and wraps made with fresh, wholesome ingredients. They use protein-packed quinoa and nutrient-dense vegetables to create delicious and nutritious meals.

Another example is Paramount Fine Foods, a Lebanese restaurant that offers a range of healthy options. They serve grilled meats, fresh salads, and delicious hummus. They also offer vegetarian and vegan options, which are becoming increasingly popular.

Conclusion

In conclusion, fast food can be unhealthy when consumed in excess. However, as the examples from Edmonton show, there are healthier fast food alternatives available. By making informed food choices, it is possible to enjoy the convenience of fast food while maintaining a healthy diet. Remember, everything in moderation is key to a healthy lifestyle.

Recommended places in Edmonton

A&W

Fast food
10205 - 102 Ave, Edmonton City Centre East, FCU-1, Edmonton, AB T5J 4H5, Canada

GPS : 53.543712, -113.4928

Users reviews of A&W Edmonton

McDonald's

Fast food
10155 102 St NW, Edmonton, AB T5J 4G8, Canada

GPS : 53.5419577, -113.4943244

Users reviews of McDonald's Edmonton

Subway

Fast food
FCU #7, 10025 - 102A Ave., Edmonton, AB T5J 2Z2, Canada

GPS : 53.54406, -113.492879

Users reviews of Subway Edmonton

Dairy Queen

Fast food
10859 101 St NW, Edmonton, AB T5H 2S6, Canada

GPS : 53.554069, -113.493245

Users reviews of Dairy Queen Edmonton

Wendy's

Fast food
10365 111 St NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 2V3, Canada

GPS : 53.5459222, -113.5109284

Users reviews of Wendy's Edmonton

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-17 by Peyton

I make it my mission to seek out the best eats in every city I visit. While exploring Edmonton last month with my husband, we stumbled upon Wendy's - and let me tell you, this fast-food joint blew us away! Despite the long lineup snaking outside the storefront, we eagerly waited our turn, anticipating a mouthwatering meal. And boy, were we not disappointed! The burgers at Wendy's were hands down the juiciest and most flavorful fast-food burgers I've tasted in this city - leagues ahead of their competitors like McDonald's or KFC. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that Wendy's has set a new benchmark for fast-food quality in Edmonton! And here's the cherry on top: as we savored our delicious meals, we caught wind of some exciting news - it seems like Wendy's is expanding its operations across Canada, bringing their legendary burgers to more and more hungry customers! Talk about a game-changer for the fast-food scene in Edmonton.

A&W

Fast food
10823 Kingsway NW, Edmonton, AB T5G 0X1, Canada

GPS : 53.560096, -113.507404

Users reviews of A&W Edmonton

Dairy Queen / Orange Julius

Fast food
Kingsway Garden Mall, 109 St & Princess Elizabeth Ave Unit 413, Edmonton, AB T5G 3A6, Canada

GPS : 53.562465, -113.505814

Users reviews of Dairy Queen / Orange Julius Edmonton

Wendy's

Fast food
8427 112 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6G 2P4, Canada

GPS : 53.5206963, -113.5203838

Users reviews of Wendy's Edmonton

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-29 by Brantley

Last month, my boyfriend and I decided to go out for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We wanted to eat something good and satisfying but not too heavy since we had plans later. We chose Wendy's because we hadn't been there in quite some time and they are known for their burgers. As soon as we entered, the place was packed with people which usually indicates that the food is worth waiting for. However, our experience didn’t turn out as expected. The service was painfully slow. We had to wait for more than fifteen minutes just to get our orders taken and another twenty minutes for our food to arrive. While we were waiting, I noticed that many other customers seemed to be facing similar issues. Some were even leaving without their orders being served. This started creating an air of tension and disappointment around the place. The only saving grace was the taste of our burgers which was good but not exceptional. Comparing Wendy's with other fast food joints in Edmonton, I feel that there are many places offering better quality food at comparable prices. Moreover, the slow service completely spoiled the overall experience for us. Despite the delicious burgers, I don’t think I would want to return anytime soon. The next time we crave good fast food, I believe we'll explore other options in town.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-03 by Josiah

Dear Wendy's Critics,

I'm here to challenge the opinion expressed by Brantley about our beloved restaurant chain. Although it's true that on a particular Sunday afternoon, Brantley and his boyfriend faced slow service at their local Wendy's, I can assure you that this is not the norm! In fact, I've been a loyal Wendy's customer for years, and I've never had an issue with the speed of service. Firstly, let me address Brantley's concern about the crowded restaurant. Yes, it's true that a packed house can sometimes lead to longer wait times, but this is not necessarily a reflection on the quality of service. In fact, Wendy's prides itself on its commitment to high-volume service, meaning that our restaurants are designed to handle large crowds with ease. And while it's true that some customers may have left without their orders being served, I can assure you that this is an exception rather than the rule. We take every customer complaint seriously and work diligently to rectify any issues as quickly as possible. Secondly, let me address Brantley's concern about the quality of food. While it's true that taste is subjective, I can confidently say that Wendy's burgers are some of the best in town! Our fresh, never frozen beef patties are cooked to perfection, and our signature square buns help to create a truly unique dining experience. And while we may not be able to compete with certain chains when it comes to price (we do use higher-quality ingredients), I can assure you that the value for money is unbeatable. Finally, let me address Brantley's concern about slow service. While it's true that wait times can sometimes be longer than we would like, I want to remind our customers that our staff members are human beings, and they deserve respect and understanding. In fact, many of our team members are students or part-timers trying to balance their studies and work commitments. We do our best to provide a positive working environment, but this can sometimes lead to staff shortages during peak hours. I want to assure you that we are actively working to address these issues and improve the overall customer experience. In conclusion, I would like to encourage Brantley (and any other skeptics out there) to give Wendy's another chance. While it's true that we may not be perfect, I can assure you that our commitment to quality food, fast service, and a positive work environment sets us apart from the competition.

A&W

Fast food
9016 112th St, Hub Mall, Edmonton, AB T6G 2C5, Canada

GPS : 53.5257613, -113.520677

Users reviews of A&W Edmonton

Dairy Queen

Fast food
8137 104 St NW, Edmonton, AB T6E 4E4, Canada

GPS : 53.5178891, -113.4972851

Users reviews of Dairy Queen Edmonton

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-05-26 by Asher Fox

I ventured into the notorious Dairy Queen with my beloved girlfriend in search of satisfying indulgences some weeks ago. However, our high hopes were shattered when we realized that dietary restrictions were not adequately accommodated, leaving us feeling deeply disappointed. Compared to other fast-food joints in Edmonton, Dairy Queen's failure to cater to specific dietary requirements is akin to a horror movie where the protagonist finds themselves trapped in a haunted house with no escape. The news today about food contamination at rival fast-food chains only adds fuel to the fire of our fears and terror, making us question whether we should ever set foot in Dairy Queen again. I strongly suggest that other fast-food enthusiasts heed this warning and opt for more accommodating establishments. Let us vow never to let such horrors befall us again.

A&W

Fast food
12326 111 Avenue, Petro Canada, Edmonton, AB T5M 2H4, Canada

GPS : 53.5592584, -113.5354842

Users reviews of A&W Edmonton

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-05-08 by Kaleb

my brother and I decided to hit up A&W last month for a much-needed dose of deliciousness. We were both craving something truly outstanding - after all, we've had our fair share of fast food joints in Edmonton and were ready for something that would blow our socks off. We arrived at the restaurant around lunchtime, eager to sink our teeth into some juicy burgers. Unfortunately, our excitement was short-lived as we quickly realized that the food quality at A&W left much to be desired. The patty on my brother's cheeseburger was overcooked and dry, while the fries he ordered were limp and lacked any real flavor. In comparison to other fast food chains in Edmonton, I have to say that A&W just doesn't stack up. McDonald's, for example, has a tried-and-true recipe for their burgers that never fails to satisfy. And let's not forget about the iconic poutine at places like Poutinerie and Smokehouse BBQ. But hey, at least we can find solace in the fact that our disappointment with A&W's subpar food quality is far from uncommon. In fact, it seems that this issue has even caught the attention of financial analysts. As reported today, Palantir Technologies - a data analytics company - saw its stock price skyrocket after earning reports showed that the company's revenue had doubled compared to last year. While some analysts have rebooted their stock price targets in light of this news, others remain skeptical about Palantir's long-term prospects. Now, back to our review of A&W. I think it's safe to say that while Palantir's revenue may be soaring, the same can't be said for the quality of food at A&W. In fact, if we were being generous, we might describe the experience as. Palantir's stock price target pales in comparison to the disappointment we felt when biting into our overcooked burgers. All jokes aside, I do want to acknowledge that A&W has some redeeming qualities - their root beer, for example, is a classic and definitely worth trying. But overall, I would say that my brother and I left the restaurant feeling somewhat underwhelmed. Maybe next time we'll opt for delivery from one of Edmonton's many talented food trucks instead. In any case, I guess we can take solace in the fact that at least our experience at A&W won't be as disappointing as Palantir's stock price target if their long-term prospects don't pan out.

Dairy Queen / Orange Julius

Fast food
11136 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T6G 2L8, Canada

GPS : 53.5182977, -113.5193844

Users reviews of Dairy Queen / Orange Julius Edmonton

Arby's

Fast food
310 Westomount Shopping Centre, 111th Ave & Groat Rd, Edmonton, AB T5M 3L7, Canada

GPS : 53.560731, -113.554175

Users reviews of Arby's Edmonton

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-06-04 by Damian Patterson

the roar of protests fills the air outside. Yes, I was at Arby's some days ago with my brother, craving for something delicious. The place didn't disappoint us at first glance - it looked spacious and inviting, with bright lights and an upbeat ambiance. However, as we stepped inside, our hopes were shattered. The seating arrangement left much to be desired - it was limited and uncomfortable, forcing us to squeeze ourselves into cramped spaces. The atmosphere, too, lacked the warmth and coziness that one associates with fast food joints in Edmonton. I couldn't help but compare this experience with my previous visits to other fast-food chains in the city, where the seating was plentiful and the decor inviting. But let's talk about the food! Arby's has a unique menu that sets it apart from its competitors. The Roast Beef Sandwich, for instance, is a masterpiece - tender slices of beef smothered in savory sauce, nestled between soft rolls. We also tried their famous Curly Fries, which lived up to the hype. The fries were crispy and delicious, with just the right amount of saltiness. Overall, I must say that Arby's is a mixed bag. While the food is undoubtedly scrumptious, the limited seating and uninviting atmosphere leave much to be desired. I would compare it to other fast-food chains in Edmonton, where the ambiance is more welcoming and the seating more plentiful. Despite its shortcomings, Arby's remains a popular choice among foodies in the city, thanks to its unique menu and affordable prices. But I can't help but wonder what this chain could achieve if it invested in improving its ambiance and seating arrangements. With a little more care and attention, Arby's could become the undisputed king of fast-food joints in Edmonton, surpassing even the most popular chains in terms of customer satisfaction!

In light of today's news, I can't help but think about how fortunate we are to have access to such a wide variety of delicious food options. In many parts of the world, people struggle with hunger and malnutrition on a daily basis.

Subway

Fast food
10506 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, AB T5J 2A3, Canada

GPS : 53.541152, -113.501285

Users reviews of Subway Edmonton

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-06-20 by Owen Mcgowan

I recently visited a Subway restaurant located at 10506 Jaспеr Ave, Edmonton, AB T5J 2A3, Canada in December with my wife because we were craving something good to eat. I have been a fan of their sandwiches for years, but this time around our experience was far from what we expected.
As we walked into the store, the smell of freshly baked bread and cold cuts greeted us, making us eager to place an order. However, things started to go south when we noticed that the ingredients looked old and not so fresh as usual. We went ahead with our order anyway hoping that it wouldn't be a deal-breaker.
Unfortunately, our hopes were dashed when we got our sandwiches. The bread was dry, the meats tasted like they had been sitting in the fridge for days, and even the lettuce and tomatoes seemed wilted. We couldn't help but compare this experience to other restaurants in Edmonton that have always provided us with delicious food and outstanding customer service.
While I understand that it's not uncommon for businesses to have occasional off days, Subway has always been known for its high standards when it comes to quality control. This visit made me question whether or not they are still committed to maintaining those standards.
In conclusion, our experience at the Subway restaurant on Jaспеr Ave was disappointing because of the subpar food quality. While I don't want to write off an entire chain based on one bad visit, it does make me hesitant to return in the future. There are plenty of other great restaurants in Edmonton that offer delicious sandwiches and exceptional service, so I think I'll stick with them until Subway can prove they're back on track.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Lilliana

I must admit that my recent visit to the Subway restaurant located at 10506 Jaспеr Ave, Edmonton, AB T5J 2A3, Canada left me feeling disheartened and unsatisfied. As someone who has been a devoted customer of this chain for years, I was expecting an enjoyable and memorable dining experience. However, the quality of food served to us by the Subway staff on that day fell well below my expectations. Firstly, let's talk about the appearance and freshness of the ingredients. As Owen Mcgowan rightfully pointed out, the meats, lettuce, and tomatoes looked old and less than desirable. I couldn't help but feel a sense of disappointment as I saw these items arranged on my sandwich bread. The cold cuts seemed to have been sitting in the refrigerator for days, which is not a good sign considering Subway's reputation for using fresh ingredients. Furthermore, the bread was dry and lacked the usual texture that I am used to from Subway sandwiches. This could be due to several factors, such as improper storage or inadequate baking techniques. Regardless of the cause, it is a significant concern for any customer who values the taste and quality of their sandwich bread. The poor food quality we experienced during our visit was not isolated, but rather part of a broader trend. From my observations, Subway seems to be struggling with maintaining consistent standards across its locations. This inconsistency can be alarming as it leads to varying levels of customer satisfaction and ultimately affects the chain's reputation. On the other hand, there are plenty of other restaurants in Edmonton that offer high-quality sandwiches and exceptional service. These establishments have been able to maintain a consistent level of excellence, which is why I find myself returning to them time and again. In contrast, Subway seems to be losing its edge in terms of food quality and customer experience. I must admit that I was saddened by our experience at the Jaespher Ave branch of Subway. However, I am not ready to write off an entire chain based on one bad visit. Instead, I would like to give them a chance to improve their standards and regain my trust as a customer. Hopefully, they will address the issues we faced during our visit and work towards providing their customers with a better dining experience in the future. In conclusion, while Subway has been a reliable and popular choice for sandwiches in the past, our recent experience at the Jaespher Ave location left us feeling disappointed. The poor food quality and inconsistent service we encountered are cause for concern, and I am hopeful that Subway will take appropriate measures to improve their standards moving forward. Until then, I will continue exploring other dining options in Edmonton that offer a better overall experience.

Arby's

Fast food
12523 St Albert Trail, Edmonton, AB T5L 4H3, Canada

GPS : 53.5818324, -113.5566178

Users reviews of Arby's Edmonton

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-27 by Mila Burch

I had been at Arby's for quite some time now, with my finances on edge as I waited patiently for the perfect meal to satisfy my craving. It wasn't just about finding something tasty; it was also about getting value for my money since I knew that fast food in Edmonton can be quite expensive.
As I scanned the menu, I found myself feeling increasingly disappointed with each item's price tag. One by one, they seemed to jump out at me – overpriced and underwhelming all at once. It made me wonder why anyone would choose Arby's when there are other options available that offer better value for your hard-earned cash.
But then again, perhaps it wasn't just about the money. Maybe there was something more intangible here – a certain romance surrounding this particular fast food joint that made people keep coming back despite the high prices. And who am I to judge? After all, we all have our guilty pleasures when it comes to food.
So while my finances may not have been entirely satisfied by my experience at Arby's today, my taste buds certainly were. And maybe that's what really matters in the end – finding a balance between pleasure and practicality; indulgence and responsibility. Maybe that's where true romance lies – in the delicate dance between our desires and our limitations.

McDonald's

Fast food
11660 104 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T5K 2T7, Canada

GPS : 53.5466432, -113.5228321

Users reviews of McDonald's Edmonton

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-03-01 by Finley Nichols

Oh boy, do I remember that fateful day when I decided to take my financial advisor out for some fast food. I was craving a greasy burger and thought McDonald's would be the perfect place to satisfy my appetite. We drove up to the drive-thru and placed our order, feeling confident about our choice. As we pulled up to the first window, the employee barely looked at us before taking our money. The lack of courtesy was already starting to grate on my nerves, but I chalked it up to a busy day. We drove around to the second window and waited patiently for our food. And then. The employee threw our bags of food through the window like they were hot potatoes. Watch it!" I snapped, annoyed by their carelessness. But they just rolled their eyes and walked away without a word. My financial advisor and I opened up our bags to find that we had been given the wrong orders. We had asked for chicken nuggets, but instead, we got Filet-O-Fish sandwiches. Frustrated and hungry, we decided to head back to the restaurant to sort things out. When we arrived at McDonald's, we were greeted by more rudeness. The manager behind the counter barely looked up from his phone as he begrudgingly took our food back and fixed our orders. It was clear that customer service was not a priority for this establishment. As we sat down to eat our belated meal, I couldn't help but compare McDonald's to other fast-food chains in Edmonton. While the burgers may be greasy and delicious, it's hard to overlook the lack of professionalism and respect that is often displayed by the staff. In a city with so many options for quick eats, I can't help but wonder why people continue to flock to McDonald's. Sure, they have their iconic Big Mac and fries, but at what cost? Is it really worth subjecting yourself to such poor customer service just for the sake of convenience?
In conclusion, while I do enjoy a good fast-food burger from time to time, my experience at McDonald's left a lot to be desired. With so many other options available in Edmonton, there's no need to settle for subpar treatment and lackluster service. It's time we demand more from our fast-food restaurants – after all, they should be held to the same high standards as any other business.

McDonald's

Fast food
101 St NW 6- 116, Edmonton, AB T5J 2Y8, Canada

GPS : 53.5439406, -113.4933835

Users reviews of McDonald's Edmonton

Panda Express

Fast food
87 Avenue Northwest, Edmonton, AB T6G 2R3, Canada

GPS : 53.5264507, -113.5246898

Users reviews of Panda Express Edmonton

Wendy's

Fast food
7410 Argyll Rd NW, Edmonton, AB T6C 4A6, Canada

GPS : 53.5094268, -113.4424328

Users reviews of Wendy's Edmonton

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-29 by Ezekiel Rowland

I can't believe I'm here, back at Wendy's again. It's been a few weeks since my last visit with my partner, and we were both in the mood for something tasty and quick. We thought Wendy's would be the perfect choice - after all, they're known for their delicious burgers and fries. But our experience was far from perfect. From the moment we walked in, there was a sense of chaos and disorganization that made me uneasy. The line snaked around the restaurant, with customers jostling each other as they waited impatiently for their orders. The smell of grease hung heavy in the air, making my stomach churn. When we finally reached the front of the queue, I ordered a classic Baconator combo and a large fry, while my partner opted for a spicy chicken sandwich and a small drink. We paid our bills and took our seats, eagerly anticipating the arrival of our meals. But as the minutes ticked by, our excitement turned to frustration. Our orders seemed to take forever to arrive, with other customers getting their food before us. When they finally did show up, we were disappointed to find that our drinks were missing from the tray. We called over a server to report the error, but he simply shrugged and said that it was probably a mistake in the kitchen. As if that wasn't enough, I noticed that the total on my receipt didn't match the amount I had paid at the counter. When I brought this to the attention of the manager, she apologized profusely and promised to investigate the issue. But as we left the restaurant, feeling more annoyed than satisfied, I couldn't help but compare our experience to other fast food chains in Edmonton. For instance, McDonald's is known for its efficiency and consistency, with orders coming out quickly and accurately every time. Subway, too, has a reputation for freshness and quality, with sandwiches made-to-order and ingredients prepared on the spot. In contrast, Wendy's seemed to be struggling with basic logistics - from slow service to incorrect orders, it was clear that something wasn't right. All of this makes me wonder why Wendy's is still around, especially in light of recent news about space travel. Chinese astronauts have just set a new record for the longest spacewalk outside their country's Tiangong space station (video), demonstrating an impressive level of technical expertise and scientific innovation. Meanwhile, Wendy's seems content to serve up stale burgers and fries, with little regard for customer satisfaction or basic hygiene standards. In short, I would urge anyone looking for a quick and delicious meal in Edmonton to look elsewhere. Whether it's McDonald's, Subway, or any of the other fast food chains around town, there are plenty of better options out there. Wendy's may have been a popular choice back in its heyday, but these days it's clear that they need to step up their game if they want to stay relevant in the modern marketplace.

Arby's

Fast food
15525 111 Ave NW, Edmonton, AB T5M 2R5, Canada

GPS : 53.5585825, -113.5894656

Users reviews of Arby's Edmonton

Fast food within entire Edmonton region

Other stuff from Edmonton:

Recently featured: