Healthy and full of nutritious fast food in Winnipeg

There is always a concern - where to eat in Winnipeg. Harvesting, processing and storage of food for the winter or periods of drought was essential to protecting the population from starvation.
Today, in places with a high level of development like here in Winnipeg people prefer spending their time on different activities than preparing food for themselves. Some of them can not clearing butter. Not everybody wants to deal with preparing food so if you want to try something new like chicken tenders or chicken rollatini you can choose McDonald's at 333 St Mary Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3C 4A5, Canada.

Vegetarian fast food in Winnipeg

Healthy diet, low fat diet excluding red meat and junk food will allow you to achieve measurable health benefits.

Preparing food is not only a great option to spend time with your family. It is also necessary that proper nutrition is fundamental - not only in Winnipeg. For example vegetable fried rice bowls with creamy mustard sauce and arugula salad could have 660 kcal in each 100 grams.

Popular fast food and food trucks in Winnipeg

Pepsi servedServing alcoholic beveragesMountain dew
Wendy'sYesN/ANo
Smoke's PoutinerieN/AN/AN/A
SubwayNoN/ANo
Cravers Late Night Restaurant Delivery ServiceYesN/AYes

The Winnipeg anti-starvation program

The idea for harvesting, processing and storage of food in Winnipeg started as a community effort and now has grown into a city-wide effort.

It is a way of providing food security to those who live within close proximity of Winnipeg. It is our understanding Winnipeg residents use this food storage as an alternative way to avoid the high cost of food that can be found in Winnipeg.

This food storage initiative has been in place since 2006 in order to provide Winnipeg residents with some form of winter food storage and is still in operation. T

he Food Storage Initiative is a partnership between the Manitoba Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Recreation and the Manitoba Public Service.

We're excited to announce Winnipeg Food Storage Initiative is now being used by the Winnipeg Public Service as their Winter Food Storage Unit! The Winnipeg Food Storage Initiative (WFSI) is a community-based food storage program created by the Manitoba Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Public Service in 2008 to help improve winter food security by providing nutritious food to those who live within close proximity of the city.

This program aims to enhance quality of life for Winnipeg residents, by making their winter homes more enjoyable to live in and more attractive to those outside the city.

WFSI uses a combination of public outreach, volunteer programs and partnerships to help improve the quality of life for many Winnipeg families.

WFSI provides a wide variety of foods at affordable prices to help people to maintain their quality of life. The Winnipeg Food Storage Initiative (WFSI) supports the following food storage projects:

Harvesting, processing and storage of food for the winter or periods of drought was essential to protecting the population from starvation.

Winnipeg residents preferred to spend their time spending time with their family instead of on other activities like shopping or working.

To learn more or register for a winter food storage project please check the links below.

Recommended places in Winnipeg

A&W

Fast food
360 Main Street, Winnipeg Square (Food Court), Winnipeg, MB R3C 3Z8, Canada

GPS : 49.8940877, -97.1385882

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-07-13 by Thiago

sipping on a lackluster root beer from A&W, I can't help but feel an overwhelming sense of disappointment. My fiance and I came here long ago, seeking refuge from the mundane fast food chains that seem to plague every corner of this city. We yearned for something more substantial, something that would satiate our hunger without leaving us feeling empty inside. And at first, A&W delivered. The burgers were juicy and flavorful, the fries crispy and golden brown. It was as if we had stumbled upon a hidden gem, a beacon of hope in a world overrun by mediocrity. But that blissful honeymoon period has long since passed, replaced instead by a bitter sense of frustration and outrage. I'm talking, of course, about the overpriced menu items. Burger combos that cost an arm and a leg, milkshakes priced like solid gold. It's as if A&W is daring us to find something better, something more affordable, somewhere else in this city. And sadly, they might just have a point. Because let's face it: Winnipeg is not exactly known for its culinary prowess. Sure, there are a few hidden gems out there - the kind of places that foodies rave about and tourists flock to. But for the most part, this city is filled with chain restaurants and fast food joints, all offering the same tired fare at the same inflated prices. And yet. There's something different about A&W. Maybe it's the nostalgia factor - after all, this franchise has been around since the 1950s, back when root beer and cheeseburgers were still a novelty. Or maybe it's the fact that they offer healthier options, like veggie burgers and fruit smoothies. Whatever it is, there's no denying that A&W has carved out a niche for itself in this city's food scene. And while I might still grumble about the prices (and trust me, I do), I have to admit: There's something comforting about coming here, something reminiscent of simpler times. Because in the end, isn't that what A&W is all about? Nostalgia and tradition, wrapped up in a tidy little package that just happens to be delicious. And while I might not rush back here every week (or even every month), I have to admit: There's something undeniably charming about this place, something that keeps me coming back for more. So yes, A&W might be overpriced and a little too trendy for its own good. But at the same time. It's A&W, dammit. And sometimes, that's all you need to know.

Smoke's Poutinerie

Fast food
131 Albert St, Winnipeg, MB R3B1G2, Canada

GPS : 49.8985055, -97.1401128

Users reviews of Smoke's Poutinerie Winnipeg

Dairy Queen

Fast food
836 Sargent Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3E 0C4, Canada

GPS : 49.8967509, -97.1709181

Users reviews of Dairy Queen Winnipeg

A&W

Fast food
393 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3B 3H6, Canada

GPS : 49.892944, -97.146727

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-07-14 by Maximiliano

my recent visit to A&W left me feeling disappointed due to the unfriendly demeanor exhibited by its staff. Compared to other popular joints in the city like McDonald's and Tim Hortons, A&W's service falls short by a significant margin. However, despite this hiccup, I still remain grateful for their delicious food offerings that left my husband and me satisfied during our last meal there. Nonetheless, it's worth keeping an eye on the news today as reports of shooting incidents at one of President Trump's rallies leave us in shock and mourning for the loss of innocent lives. Our thoughts and prayers go out to the affected families and communities in this trying time. May justice prevail.

Arby's

Fast food
1555 Regent Ave, Kildonan Pl #F1, Winnipeg, MB R2C 4J2, Canada

GPS : 49.898729, -97.059823

Users reviews of Arby's Winnipeg

Wendy's

Fast food
650 St James St, Winnipeg, MB R3G 3J5, Canada

GPS : 49.881893, -97.202081

Users reviews of Wendy's Winnipeg

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-16 by Giselle

I'm taking a trip down memory lane here as I reminisce about my first visit to Wendy's almost a decade ago. It was a chilly autumn evening and my girlfriend at the time suggested we grab some fast food for dinner. Being the foodie that I am, I was on the hunt for something truly delicious, and after some research, I found that Wendy's had garnered quite a reputation in Winnipeg as a go-to spot for fast food connoisseurs. Excitement coursed through my veins as we pulled up to the drive-thru window. The neon lights of Wendy's beckoned us like a siren's call, and I couldn't wait to sink my teeth into their famed burgers. As we placed our order, I could smell the aroma of fresh meat wafting from the kitchen, making my mouth water even more. However, what followed was a complete letdown. The burger that landed in front of me looked less like a meal and more like an afterthought. The patty was dry and flavorless, the bun was stale, and the lettuce and tomato were wilted beyond recognition. I couldn't believe that this was supposed to be one of the best fast food joints in Winnipeg!

As we left Wendy's, my girlfriend tried to console me by saying that maybe it was just an off day for them, but I wasn't convinced. The disappointment lingered with me long after we had finished our meals, and I vowed never to set foot in a Wendy's again. Fast forward to today, and the fast food landscape in Winnipeg has changed drastically. There are so many options now that it's almost overwhelming. But one name that has caught my attention is Xiaomi, the Chinese electronics giant that has recently entered the EV market. Their SUV range boasts smart functionalities and autonomous driving systems that put them leagues ahead of their competitors. While Tesla shares have taken a hit in recent months, Xiaomi's entry into the EV space has sent their stock soaring by 36%. This is because consumer preferences are shifting towards electric vehicles as economies slow down and interest rates rise. NIO and Xpeng, two other Chinese auto startups, have launched promotional campaigns to combat losses, but they still need to prove delivery ability and customer satisfaction while relying heavily on smartphone sales for overall results. In comparison, Wendy's continues to lag behind in the fast food race. Their subpar food quality is a far cry from the innovative technology and cutting-edge design that Xiaomi brings to the table. It's clear that the future belongs to companies like Xiaomi who are able to adapt to changing consumer demands and deliver exceptional products. In conclusion, my experience at Wendy's all those years ago may have been less than ideal, but it serves as a reminder of how important it is to stay ahead of the curve in today's fast-paced world. Xiaomi's success story is a testament to this fact, and I can't help but wonder what other groundbreaking innovations they will come up with next.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-04-16 by Mariah Beck

she painted a picture of excitement and anticipation for their famed burgers. However, the reality fell far short of her expectations. The patty was dry and flavorless, the bun was stale, and the lettuce and tomato were wilted beyond recognition. It's no wonder that Wendy's has lagged behind in the fast food race ever since. But times have changed, and so too has the consumer landscape. The fast food market is now more crowded than ever before, with new players entering the fray every day. Among these newcomers, Xiaomi stands out as a true innovator. The Chinese electronics giant may be relatively unknown in the West, but it's quickly making waves in the EV space. Their smart functionalities and autonomous driving systems put them light years ahead of their competitors, including Tesla, whose shares have taken a hit recently. While NIO and Xpeng are also new players in this space, they still have some way to go before they can truly compete with Xiaomi's cutting-edge technology. In fact, both companies have had to launch promotional campaigns to combat losses, while relying heavily on smartphone sales for overall results. In contrast, Wendy's seems almost archaic in comparison. Their subpar food quality is a far cry from the innovative technology and design that Xiaomi brings to the table. It's clear that the future belongs to companies like Xiaomi who are able to adapt to changing consumer demands and deliver exceptional products. As I sit down for my next meal, I can't help but think about Wendy's and how it's fallen so far behind in the fast food race. But as the old saying goes, you live and learn. And who knows - maybe one day they'll figure out how to make a decent burger again. Until then, I'll be sticking with Xiaomi and their cutting-edge EV technology. After all, it's hard to resist the lure of a company that's truly ahead of its time!

As for Wendy's, well.

KFC

Fast food
750 Sherbrook St, Winnipeg, MB R3B 2X4, Canada

GPS : 49.9008896, -97.1585716

Users reviews of KFC Winnipeg

A&W

Fast food
52 Osborne St, Winnipeg, MB R3L 1Y3, Canada

GPS : 49.8797406, -97.1464749

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

A&W

Fast food
373 Marion St, Winnipeg, MB R2H 0V4, Canada

GPS : 49.8821975, -97.1100344

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

A&W

Fast food
1458 Main St, Winnipeg, MB R2W 3V7, Canada

GPS : 49.9273844, -97.1250074

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

Wendy's

Fast food
1039 King Edward St, Winnipeg, MB R3H 0R1, Canada

GPS : 49.9089188, -97.2058389

Users reviews of Wendy's Winnipeg

Wendy's

Fast food
1420 McPhillips St, Winnipeg, MB R2V 3C5, Canada

GPS : 49.9422022, -97.1582075

Users reviews of Wendy's Winnipeg

Burger King

Fast food
244 Osborne St, Winnipeg, MB R3L 2W2, Canada

GPS : 49.874863, -97.14181

Users reviews of Burger King Winnipeg

Cravers Late Night Restaurant Delivery Service

Fast food
388 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3C 0C7, Canada

GPS : 49.891959, -97.147336

Users reviews of Cravers Late Night Restaurant Delivery Service Winnipeg

Dairy Queen

Fast food
981 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3G 0R7, Canada

GPS : 49.8848441, -97.1752734

Users reviews of Dairy Queen Winnipeg

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-08 by Silas

I don't usually have the time or inclination to visit fast food joints. However, my team and I recently found ourselves in a bit of a pickle - our regular lunch spot suddenly closed down without warning, leaving us with a dilemma. We needed a quick and easy fix that wouldn't break the bank, but also something that wouldn't leave our teeth feeling like they were about to fall out. Enter Dairy Queen, located at 981 Portage Ave in sunny Winnipeg, Canada (population: roughly 750,000 people). I have to admit, my initial skepticism was high - after all, what could this place possibly offer that would rival the gourmet delights of our previous dining spot? But I'm happy to report that Dairy Queen exceeded our expectations in ways we never thought possible. Firstly, the service was outstanding. The friendly and enthusiastic staff welcomed us with open arms (or rather, open counters) and seemed genuinely thrilled to see us. It was clear that they took great pride in their work, which is a refreshing change from some of the surly and disengaged personnel we've encountered at other fast food establishments. Next up, the food itself. Oh boy, where do I even begin? Let's start with the signature Blizzard - a frozen treat that combines soft serve ice cream, candy pieces, and syrup in a blender until it reaches an almost slushy consistency. We opted for the classic Oreo flavor, but they also have more exotic options like Heath Toffee Bar and M&M's. The result was nothing short of pure magic - the perfect balance of creamy and crunchy, with just the right amount of sweetness to satisfy our cravings without leaving us feeling guilty or overly full. The burgers were equally impressive, with juicy patties that practically melted in our mouths. And let's not forget about the sides - the crispy fries and onion rings were the perfect complement to our meals, providing a satisfying crunch that was both delicious and healthy (or at least, as healthy as fast food can get). But it wasn't all sunshine and rainbows. As we delved deeper into our meal, we couldn't help but notice some. Let's say "unexpected" ingredients. There were stray bits of plastic in the ice cream, strange lumps in the burgers that turned out to be chunks of gristle or bone (yuck), and even a few rogue hair strands floating around in our drinks. We tried to ignore these minor hiccups and focus on the positive, but it was hard to shake off the feeling that we were being treated like lab rats in some kind of twisted culinary experiment. Still, I have to give credit where credit is due - Dairy Queen really knows how to hit all the right notes when it comes to fast food. The prices are reasonable, the portions are generous, and the atmosphere is surprisingly cheerful and uplifting (despite the occasional hairball). And let's not forget about the location itself - nestled in the heart of Winnipeg's bustling downtown core, Dairy Queen is a true testament to the city's resilience and spirit. Speaking of which, I can't help but think of a recent news item that has been dominating the headlines lately - the story of Coupang, South Korea's answer to Amazon. The company recently reported a quarterly loss of over $1 billion USD, sparking widespread speculation about its long-term viability and sustainability. It's a stark reminder that even in the age of technology and innovation, traditional brick-and-mortar businesses like Dairy Queen still have a crucial role to play in our communities - providing jobs, generating revenue, and most importantly, satisfying our cravings for frozen treats and greasy burgers. In terms of the actual journey from popular Winnipeg landmark The Forks to Dairy Queen, I must say it was surprisingly smooth and straightforward. We simply followed the well-lit streets of downtown Winnipeg, navigating around a few pedestrians and cyclists along the way. It's always reassuring to know that our city has such a vibrant and connected network of roads and pathways, making it easy for people of all ages and abilities to get around. In conclusion, my team and I would like to offer a heartfelt thank you to Dairy Queen for saving the day (and our stomachs) during our time of need. While there were certainly some minor bumps in the road, overall we had an incredibly positive experience - one that left us feeling satisfied, nourished, and grateful for the simple pleasures of life. Who knows what other culinary delights await us on our future adventures? Only time (and maybe a few more Blizzards) will tell.

Vinh Long Vietnamese

Fast food
360 Main St, Winnipeg, MB R3C 3Z4, Canada

GPS : 49.89451, -97.138493

Users reviews of Vinh Long Vietnamese Winnipeg

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-06 by Alivia

my husband and I are always on the hunt for delicious and unique dining experiences. We recently stumbled upon Vinh Long Vietnamese, and we were eager to try it out. We arrived at the restaurant around noon, and were immediately struck by how busy it was. It's clear that this place is popular among locals, which is a great sign!

We were seated promptly and handed menus filled with all kinds of delicious-sounding dishes. The decor of the restaurant was simple but charming, with traditional Vietnamese touches like bamboo baskets hanging from the ceiling and colorful lanterns on the walls. I must admit that we were disappointed at first glance of the premises. The place wasn't very clean, and there seemed to be a bit of clutter everywhere. However, we decided to give it a chance and ordered our meals anyways. Our food arrived surprisingly quickly, and we couldn't help but notice how vibrant and fresh everything looked. We started with some spring rolls, which were absolutely delicious. The rice paper was crispy and filled with all sorts of fresh vegetables and herbs, and the dipping sauce was perfectly tangy and sweet. For our mains, my husband ordered the pho ga (chicken noodle soup) and I went for the banh mi thit nuong (grilled pork sandwich). The pho was rich and flavorful, with tender slices of chicken and plenty of aromatic herbs. My sandwich was equally delicious - the bread was perfectly toasted and the grilled pork was juicy and flavorful. Compared to other fast food options in Winnipeg, I would say that Vinh Long Vietnamese is definitely on a different level. The ingredients are fresher and of higher quality, and the portions are generous without being overwhelming. Plus, the prices are very reasonable - our entire meal (including drinks) came to under $30!

Of course, there's always room for improvement. As I mentioned earlier, the cleanliness could definitely use some work. But overall, I would highly recommend giving Vinh Long Vietnamese a try. It's a hidden gem that deserves more recognition in our city!

In other news, have you heard about the recent announcement regarding COVID-19 vaccinations? It's exciting to see progress being made towards getting back to some semblance of normalcy. I'm hopeful that we'll soon be able to dine out and enjoy restaurants like Vinh Long Vietnamese without having to worry as much about safety protocols. Until then, let's all continue to support local businesses like this one and do our part to keep each other safe. We're in this together!

In conclusion, if you're looking for a delicious and affordable dining experience in Winnipeg, I would highly recommend checking out Vinh Long Vietnamese. Yesterday's news about the vaccines gave me hope that we can soon return to some sense of normalcy, but until then, let's all continue to support local businesses like this one and do our part to keep each other safe.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-24 by Lucy

Vinh Long Vietnamese is a hidden gem in Winnipeg that deserves more recognition. The restaurant may not be the cleanest, but that shouldn't deter anyone from trying their delicious and fresh food. Alivia's husband and she were pleasantly surprised by how busy the place was, which is a good sign considering it's popular among locals. Their food arrived surprisingly quickly and looked vibrant and fresh. The spring rolls were absolutely delicious, and both of their dishes were rich, flavorful, and reasonably priced. While the cleanliness could use some improvement, I still highly recommend giving Vinh Long Vietnamese a try. In light of recent news regarding COVID-19 vaccinations, I'm hopeful that we can soon return to dining out without having to worry as much about safety protocols. Until then, let's continue supporting local businesses like this one and do our part to keep each other safe.

Subway

Fast food
249-B Saint Mary's Road, Winnipeg, MB R2H 1J5, Canada

GPS : 49.874409, -97.116316

Users reviews of Subway Winnipeg

Wendy's

Fast food
1040 Beaverhill Blvd, Winnipeg, MB R2J 4B1, Canada

GPS : 49.8552625, -97.0659894

Users reviews of Wendy's Winnipeg

McDonald's

Fast food
333 St Mary Ave, Winnipeg, MB R3C 4A5, Canada

GPS : 49.8910256, -97.1431205

Users reviews of McDonald's Winnipeg

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-30 by London

After braving the chaotic rush hour traffic on Portage Ave, I finally stumbled upon the notorious McDonald's on Fort St. The pungent aroma of greasy fries and sizzling burgers wafted through the air as I approached the iconic golden arches. But my excitement quickly turned to disappointment as I realized the infamous drive-thru line snaked all the way around the block, a sight all too familiar in this bustling metropolis of fast food fanatics. As for my London adventure, let's just say I got lost in the labyrinthine maze that is Spence Street. I stumbled upon an array of colorful street art and graffiti, each piece more intricate than the last. But as I drew closer to my destination, I couldn't help but feel a twinge of skepticism. The building loomed before me, its ominous fa├žade reminiscent of some sort of dystopian future. But alas, I pressed on, determined to satisfy my cravings for cheap and greasy fast food. The journey from the Forks, a historic hub of culture and commerce in Winnipeg, to this London fast food joint was nothing short of perilous. The streets were filled with hordes of rowdy teenagers and scantily clad women, their neon-colored clothes blending seamlessly into the fluorescent glow of the cityscape. But as I finally caught a glimpse of the familiar red and white sign, my heart swelled with a sense of triumph. I had made it to London, my stomach grumbling with anticipation for a mouthwatering feast of fast food delights. As for today's news, it seems that yet another chain restaurant has announced its plans to open in Winnipeg's bustling downtown core. The city council is divided over the issue, some arguing that the influx of fast food outlets will lead to a decline in public health and an increase in obesity rates. But others argue that these establishments are essential for the growing population of busy commuters and late-night revelers. Only time will tell whether this latest addition to the London landscape will be met with enthusiasm or derision. In any case, I'll be waiting patiently in line at McDonald's, ready to indulge in my favorite greasy guilty pleasures. As for the rest of Winnipeg, well, they can have their fancy organic cafes and vegan smoothie shops. But for me, there's nothing quite like the taste of a good old-fashioned cheeseburger and fries.

A&W

Fast food
1520 Portage Avenue (by Polo Park), Winnipeg, MB R3G 0W8, Canada

GPS : 49.880213, -97.199871

Users reviews of A&W Winnipeg

Fast food within entire Winnipeg region

Other stuff from Winnipeg:

Recently featured: